Dec 28, 2010

Comfort 24-7



Book and beverage near fireplace





December 21st we found ourselves in the mid December solstice marking the beginning of winter in the Northern Hemisphere. The winter solstice brings the shortest day - and the longest night! - of the year. 

In the last 10 days of 2010 a great opportunity to give the gift of warmth to a deserving family is happening! Best of all it is free!  

Now through December 31st, 2010 nominate yourself, friend, neighbor, coworker, or loved one for a FREE FURNACE!


Comfort 24-7 is giving away 63 furnaces to homeowners located in Illinois and Indiana through their Comfort To The People Promotion. This Contest is open to residents of Illinois or Indiana who are eighteen (18) years of age or older at the time of entry. You must also reside within a twenty (20) mile radius of a Comfort247.com Dealer.

There is no commitment to purchase, and all you have to do is submit a brief blurb, (less than 500 words) telling why you, or someone you know, deserves a free furnace. Entry is very simple. Even a  2-3 sentence submission will do!  Entry and additional details can be found at http://www.comfort24-7.com/comfort2thepeople.


Tell the House if you enter and especially if you WIN!


Thanks to Interactive Amy for this wonderful news ~





Dec 16, 2010

Where Do Our Dreams Go To Hide



Woman relaxing on beach



New possibilities in my life resonate like a yodel bouncing around a mountain somewhere off foreign shores. I have been chasing dreams for decades now, but all I am really left with, at this time, in this place of my existence, is a civil servant's job ~ a life that is full, fulfilling - but not necessarily the life I WANT to lead. OR the life I felt I was supposed to lead.


While I was pursuing my bachelor's degree back in the late 1980's early 90's, my aspiration was life by the sea. In  my visions, day after day would be spent chasing the perfect story. Words would just be spewing from my pen, while novel after novel piled up. I would wake up surrounded by my published works, publishers knocking down my door in pursuit of my crafted sentences. 


Two decades later, I have not seen the shores of an exotic locale in 5 years, my pens are full and my pages empty. I have not published the great American Novel, won any literary accolades, nor have I accomplished world peace!


I managed to raise my son on my own, mother him and his dog, all while servicing felons as they attempt to reintegrate into society. I somehow managed a masters degree for which I am now grossly in debt. Not SO shabby, I must say ... after all, like Dad says, "there is no glory in mud-ville".


Thankfully, by a stroke of some incredible force, the prospect of achieving even a portion of my old dreams remains. These life assertions I desire are attainable, quite incredibly through blogging and social media! It is for that reason I stay perky, and thus, I persevere. 


Back in 2007, Latrice Fowler and I met on Women For Hire. Tory Johnson's dream unfolded piercing everyone she touched with a brave new world. Her social media site was the first I ever belonged to. Women there were nurturing wounds, developing new confidences and fostering new relationships. Who knew it was "networking"!


The website was amazing and changed my life. Now I have visions of connecting women to better opportunities for themselves and their families. A woman's self worth feeds the globe in so many ways. We have voices that uplift with knowledge unbounded. We live, learn and love with fervor - and capturing it each day by sharing on our blogs and sites is both revitalizing and monumentally important. I want for my 3 websites a place where all can feel safe to understand each other and embrace differences. I want it to be stressed that eating better, operating our health, managing our goals can be fun, exciting and globally motivating. Touching some young woman in a remote part of the world with just one sentence is profound and it can really happen with the internet via reading our blogs, reviews and sites. All are responsible for small glimmers of information being sent out to thousands if not millions of folks who then begin moving outside of their comfort zones or perceived constrictions into higher understandings. It happened for me, so I know!


Now, about that spot that is waiting for me by the sea ....




I wrote this blog post while participating in the TwitterMoms and OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network blogging program, for a $50 gift card. For more information on how you can participate, click here.

Dec 1, 2010

Soul To Soul Parenting with Annie Burnside





Annie Burnside, M.Ed, Soul Nurturer has news for you. You too can parent your children and mark your
lives together with meaningful and encouraging life experience.   

In her book, Soul To Soul Parenting, Annie unravels raising children and participating in a soulful journey with incredible detail that fosters spiritual growth and an openness to life and the realm of conscious living.
I was particularly struck by the green-light approach that lists hopeful strategy and mindful release techniques.

Communication is delightful in families where there is acceptance and peace. Annie's "cues", "signs" and "role-play" offerings are only tips of what this book can unfold for people interested in true connections and loving environments to touch the presence of higher powers and enrich God and enlightenment without religious attachment. Families can be free to worship as they do while still being able to implement Annie's ideas.

Having this sort of access to alternative parenting is wonderful if you keep an open heart and an open mind. The world is needing our openness and oneness. If you pick this one up, come back and let me know if you've received something positive! 

How was your family impacted and would you recommend loving in this way?                                                                                 
                            





Nov 30, 2010

Ho Ho HOME GOODS!


Ho Ho AND WHOA, it is the holiday season!!! In conjunction with Blogher I was able to purchase goodies from The HomeGoods Store! The location here in Chicagoland is within the Elston Center 2731 N. Elston Avenue Chicago, IL 60647 773-276-3138. Who knew?








The parking was convenient, heck the entire shopping experience was convenient! I can't show you what I bought, well ~ because they're presents! BUT I can say that the staff was incredibly nice. There are huge savings to be had, and great buys to be made. The categories include several optimal shopping must-haves that ensure plenty of hours of fun. However, if you are in a hurry, that is cool too, because everything is well categorized and fully stocked.








I truly was able to purchase with the $25 card I was given by Blogher and Home Goods to buy well made, exquisite gifts. 






This was a delightful time. I certainly will return to do more damage! Look out!






All photos taken by Houseonahill.org


JOY TO THE WORLD!

Nov 29, 2010

Dreams Of The Acadia


                                  Photo courtesy of Houseonahill.org


What is white, cold as ice, awesome and is NOT SNOW? The GMC Acadia of course! This vehicle is the stuff dreams are made of. It is roomy, handles and and is sleek with all the amenities. It can include a moon-roof - in the front and in the back - also room for the entertainment screen - WOW, imagine that! This one hits the road packing in all the pomp and circumstance and more!

It is as spacious as a truck, luxurious as any sedan, rides like the wind and handles like a race car. I could not help but whip around Chicago street's curves with extra speed to feel how the Acadia dug into the road.

In my opinion, it simply doesn't get any better than this!

Any questions??

Nov 23, 2010

Sauza Tequila & Chef Marcela Valladolid





If you partied at all in college, you have a tequila story. In fact, all night, that was the recurring theme for just about everyone. Yet shamed or not, within minutes we were ALL happily sipping away Chef Marcela Valladolid drink recipes!

We sampled several tasty drinks and "SAUZA TEQUILA" infused meal options during the course of the night - what a treat! A beautiful home as background, with the company of many Chicago area social media mavens taking "soiree" to a new level!

My favorite treats of the night were the deep fried olives, the brussel sprouts, and the warmed tequila sangria. For the "meat eaters" the tequila smothered turkey was a huge hit. So fun and fortunate! Kicking off the fall and winter season with ideas, glamour and good times - who can beat that!


I was invited to attend this dinner party and was  not compensated outside of a swag bag that included two bottles of tequila and Chef Marcela's new book. I did not write this  post inebriated and as always, the opinions are my own.

Nov 10, 2010

Be Fit with the Wii Fit!



Woman playing with dog on the beach


So I  FINALLY broke down and purchased a Wii. I've had a Wii fit collecting dust in my closet because I refused to put out $200.00 on yet another technical thingamabobby! But after failing to win one after entering every single imaginable give-away, after bribing over-indulged children I knew who had two or three, and after driving to the local Sports Authority on 15 separate occasions over the past year, I decided it was time.

No more excuses. I live a fit life, but just not fit enough. I feel that if I add this extra option, I can burn those extra calories that have somehow alluded my aging metabolism! Yes, I need the help of the Wii.

Why? Well, for a number of reasons. The first being I am overweight. Sure, I do yoga every single day, I walk my dog half a mile and I am still 15 pounds from where I wish to be! Second, my friend from High School is getting married over the holidays and the dress I want to wear looks good, but I want it to look GREAT, and lastly my son threatened to sell my Wii Fit Plus that I received at a Wii Party, if I did not use it! So I put my money where my mouth is, literally.

I slapped down that $179.00 and am actually very happy that I did! I spend 25 minutes doing yoga, boxing, running and balancing! It was truly fun and engaging. So keeping in tune with my fitness goals throughout the remainder of the year I will be sharing my journey and hope that you will be sharing your thoughts!

Oct 15, 2010

~ An Evening With Forest Whitaker ~


Disclosure: Buick provided me 2 tickets to the Black Persectives Tribute: honoring Forest Whitaker & 2 passes to The Wit after-party. I was not asked, or compensated, to write, or comment on the event, any products, or otherwise. My opinions and viewpoints here are my own and were not solicited.




Oscar winner actor Forest Whitaker receives the Chicago International Film Festival's Career Achievement award at Chase Auditorium on October 9, 2010 at the Chase Auditorium in chicago, Illinois. Fame Pictures, Inc



I have admired Forest Whitaker his entire career. Outstanding performances, being able to peel layers off characters, and revealing to us, a humbled, tortured side of the spirit - which has often amazed me. In "The Crying Game" we were awed that he could tackle dialect and alternative lifestyles seamlessly.

As a director, "Waiting To Exhale" was the Black-Woman-Done-Wrong anthem. "Hope Floats" dictated triumph when life kicks you in the behind. My response to both of these movies was an immediate "MUST HAVE" in my film library.

From Fast Times at Ridgemont High to Platoon (my child is named after one of the characters), Bird, to The Last King of Scotland, Forest Whitaker's visions have haunted and entertained me. Imagine my delight when I was told I could participate in the 46th Chicago Film Festival and The Black Perspectives Tribute in honoring him.

Photo courtesy of Houseonahillorg




The evening provided insight to a marksman's mind. He nails with his quirky, often eccentric, performances. Forest was gracious mingling with us the entire evening.

Buick, also present as sponsor of the 46th Chicago Film Festival, was incredible hosting, common folk and Chicago's finest alike, at The Wit Hotel after the Q & A Regina Taylor conducted.

Fun and magic ~ what an evening!

Oct 4, 2010

Dominick's "Just For You"!



Healthy Foods



Who enjoys grocery shopping?

Actually I do!

So, when offered the opportunity to shop at Dominick's - well it was really a no-brainer. I was given gift cards to make purchases and tell you all how I did!

Dominick's has deep Chicagoland ties. It is not out of the ordinary for me to pop in there 2-3 times a month. My shopping card has ragged edges, and probably decades of age-old info on it. There are purchases from my years of diapers and baby food, to steak and cases of beer. Nowadays, however, my needs are as simple as feeding a teen boy. A few pounds of turkey lunch meat, ground meat, veggies and almond milk. On occasion, I even pick up my lunch!

SO, how about you? Shopping, for me, can be a respite - definitely satisfying the "caretaker" need that, as of late, I have been squabbling with myself about. Thinking about their frequent shoppers like me, Dominick's is now promoting a great program that is truly "Just For You"!

The great thing about "Just For You" is that you can easily log into your account and see your coupons, personalized specials (based on what you typically purchase) and your personal "Club Specials". Another neat feature shows most coupons available for a relatively long time. This impresses me because you may not need certain things each time you shop. It's nice that you don't have to rush, or purchase things you are not in need of just yet.

Once you begin logging items, they are available for review under your "Shopping List".You are even able to email your list for convenience.

For those of you who consider shopping a chore, this new idea is a way to lesson the stress and be able to view your savings before you even arrive at the store's location ~ definitely a plus!

Hopefully you all possess the Dominick's Fresh Value shopping card. If there is a Dominick's or Safeway in your area, and you have yet to open an account, you can't beat these savings - I highly recommend opening an account!

Following this link will get you your account. If you have an account, follow the link to get into your account where you may register for fun savings and a thoughtful shopping experience!

http://www.dominicks.com/IFL/Grocery/Offers-Landing-IMG

Enjoy!

Sep 29, 2010

Adjust Is A Must!



Woman at chiropractic appointment




The warm day today eased the blow I was feeling concerning fall.

My fire has dimmed and I am, less reluctantly, adjusting to the change of season.

Little did I know that a little chiropractic maneuvering would be in my future and that it would really help things along.

Visiting my friends at West Loop Chiropractors turned out to be a much needed adjustment in my schedule!

The Open House I attended was more-so aimed at giving my cousin and my best bud a bit of support. Each of them have their physical and emotional complaints, so when I was invited by Doctor Rosen to come see the new facility, I made sure they could tag along.

Somehow my spine received a calling, if you will - a yanking would be more precise, and I somehow was drawn in to do more by actually participating - in the tour, testing the instruments and garnering knowledge.

While I have been to a chiropractor before, I have never been one that inspired me to promote its benefits. But here, I can happily and confidently now advise that while on this healthier, happier journey, one must always consider at least one visit to get "cracked".

I tease, and I am a horrible patient because I am squeamish, but the truth is, the doorway to optimal health often lies in this ancient science.

In the 1890's chiropracting began and has been a viable way to heal ever since. As with anything, there are the naysayers, but I firmly believe an adjustment here and there can truly be a plus in your healthy regimen.

Not having had any particularly unusual complaints, I must say that I feel darn great!

I was first treated to "therapy" that consisted of electric nodules that penetrated the tightness in my neck and back. It was 15 minutes of deep, undisputed heaven.

I do not enjoy having my neck manipulated. Period. So, who knew that NOWADAYS there is a tiny instrument that takes all the WHACK out of having your head rotated until it pops! Thankfully ... due to euphoria and expertise, I never heard a sound.

Doc Neumann's quiet demeanor and excellent touch (and patience with a whiner) were so well appreciated.

I was in and out in a matter of minutes. My head feels clear and I feel a rejuvenation that can only be contributed to this new-age adaptation of health. I can feel the congestion running down my throat. My ears have cleared and I feel energetic where there was the loathing seasonal lethargy.

My very comprehensive consultation was so accurate. I am not chronic by any means, but this exam thoroughly zoned in on my weaknesses and where I am falling apart.

Should you embark on this idea, afterward - drink PLENTY of water.

Headaches, ear aches, tightnesses, digestive problems and a host of other maladies can all be affected by the lack of attention we give to the nerves attached to our spines.

Overall health is diet, body, spirit and soul.

Now, as this perfect peace descends on me, find a certified, experienced doctor who can take your body to another actuality ~ enjoy!

Sep 8, 2010

The Chevrolet Suburban - Clean. Green. Now. WOW





What are holidays for???

Labor Day is for workers, right?

Back on September 5, 1882, the first labor day was celebrated.

It would take until 1894 for Congress to make it a legal holiday - but these many years later, its force and commendable ideals remain firmly intact.

How did many of you spend the Labor Day Holiday?

I spent mine showcasing the incredible features on the Chevrolet Suburban to my sister and her dear husband who I fondly call "Brother".

While we joked that the 2010 Suburban requires a bus license, we could not believe how it handles!

No bumps, this big boy means business, and handles the road in quite a sophisticated way.

My Dad kept bellowing for the 300 mile trip (there and back) that "this IS luxury!" He also exclaimed a few times, "WOW, the ride is like butter." Once or twice he said, "THIS is a smooth ride."

My "Brother" zipped in and about his town with such ease and control - the boat clearly manages like a car!

Equally amazing is the gas mileage! Being in a small town we easily came upon E85.




Flex-fuel pluses include burning cleaner. Having a mixture of 15% gas and 85% anhydrous ethanol, E85 is WAY cheaper as well.



It also appears that E85 burns more efficiently. I have never driven one way of the trip on a full tank only burning 1/4th of a tank!

So, The 2010 Chevrolet Suburban again, displayed that it is top-notch.

Classy, reliable, sleek, sexy, smart and rocks the road.

Suburban is clearly the King of the Highway.

Aug 30, 2010

2011 Chevrolet Traverse ~ LOOKING GOOD!






You have heard me rave about the Chevy Traverse PLENTY this year .... and also the other Chevy's in their 2010 fleet.

I have favored the Tahoe emphatically ... but nowadays I am not so sure!

Having the 2011 Traverse this weekend has solidified my love and devotion.

With a 5 year, 100,000 mile warranty, 16 miles to the gallon in the city, a 3.6 liter SIDI V6 6 speed transmission, what's not to love!

Let's not forget OnStar and the REGULAR gas intake. My gas guzzling PREMIUM Nissan hurts my heart whenever I fill my tank.

The LTZ comes standard with a HOST of luxuries from leather seats, dual front, head curtain side and all rows air-bags. Heated and cooled seating. Bose audio. USB port. Oil life monitoring. Hands-free phone. 20 inch wheels!

Love, Love, Love this vehicle!




AND now that I am carting around high school football players, with my kid being 6 feet 195 ... I still can comfortably fit them, the dog and groceries too!

Ah ... love is a many splendid thing!





Aug 12, 2010

Ten Tips For Saving Money During The Back-To-School Season







Close up of a chalkboard with back to school written on it



The Back-To-School challenges can be very daunting if you are not prepared.


Middle school is under my belt - I mastered being ready having had my kid in the same environment 10 years!


He started his former educational site at 3 years old and graduated 8th grade this past June! I jumped around on Cloud 9 for months! He achieved scholastic honors and was simply a joy!


Mid July a co-worker of mine - whose son is also entering as a freshman this fall - starte with the "Did you..." s. 


"Did you pay for this and that" panicked me - got me into gear - but I hate panicking!


Having y eyes BUCK and led to a few gasps the first couple of weeks - now I have settled into reality. Finally I kicked into gear and am happy to share with you what I have learned for successful money saving this Back-To-School session!


                    1) No matter the season - if you see a bargain - GO FOR IT!
I managed to get school shoes last Spring - keeping in mind there might be growth. Staples, etc. offer awesome coupons and deals - subscribe to their emails!


                     2)  Have an "Emergency Account" ~ of course you can use this for whatever comes up!


I actually have two. One for appliances that explode and the other for "whatever comes up"!


This way, as school approaches, you can dip in there and take what you need should there be an unforeseen fee or class requirement.


                     3) Ask in advance -
The Middle-School experience so far, seems to have been extremely more organized with assisting frantic parents in purchasing mandatory pens and notebooks - THEY DID IT FOR US! For about $15 extra in tuition they simply purchased everything needed so, as we had in days past, there would no longer be crashes in the aisles at Staples as parents rushed to get the last red binder. High School? I have NO clue what pens etc are required. Making that call today!!


                     4) Leave CUTE out of the equation.
Okay, I have a boy, but girls of school age are as hard on their clothes as boys. Buy good quality - but affordable being key to the equation. I absolutely lucked up on khaki  pants (the required pant) at Marshall's in June. $15-19. I bought 4 pair. I lucked up again last  week as Costco offered Docker's at the same price.


Black, navy and khaki. Now I have a bit of wiggle room when my active teen rips, miffs, or ruins a few.


                      5) Don't fret
I think a lot of our mania is because we frenzy ourselves and our fellow moms. STOP IT.


The world will certainly keep on its axis if the kings and queens of our homes go without. Do NOT pay an exorbitant amount for something until it becomes affordable. (THINK BACK to all of the things we went without and we're fine).


                      6) USE this opportunity
Those of us with children over 8, let them FULLY participate in this annual endeavor. Going without may encourage them to be more communicative about what they know they'll be needing. It is also a great time to teach budget skills and organizational skills.


                      7) Themes are cute BUT...
Do they really need a themed lunch-bag for $12.99 or is the $5.99 deal just as  nice. (One year I allowed my kiddo to decorate his own. It was fun and CHEAPER).


                       8) Love
LOVE LOVE LOVE every second. BOY this is all going WAY to quickly.


                       9) Have your list ready as soon as possible.
That will help you with impromptu purchases that tend to tack on the change.


                      10) Remember your fellow mom and her kids.
I always have and always will, buy a tad more than needed, being extremely frugal and allows to give a few extra pens, reams of paper, or gently worn items to anyone I come into contact with in need.




Join Staples on Facebook: http://www.Facebook.com/staples
Follow Staples on Twitter: http://twitter.com/staplestweets

I wrote this blog post while participating in the TwitterMoms and Staples blogging program, making me eligible to get a $50 gift card. For more information on how you can participate, click here.


GOOD LUCK ~ AND WELCOME BACK!!! "A mind is a terrible thing to waste" ~









Back-to-School SavingsStaples Back-to-School




Aug 11, 2010

Coffee? Giveaway? BLISS!!!



Over at Susieqtpie's Blog "CafeScrapper-ScrapsOfLife" is a FABULOUS MONTH LONG GIVEAWAY of  COFFEE!!!!


Anyone who knows me, or reads any of my blogs know that I go coo-coo for coffee beans.


Seriously, I love drinking coffee more than just about anything ... yep ... it's THAT serious.


SO ... of course I want to WIN me some coffee. I ALSO want to share this wonderful opportunity if there are any other coffee lovers out there interested!


Départ du café et profitez-en!

Jul 30, 2010

Fulfilling & Fresh!


A day at the Chicago's Art Institute can be emotionally draining and caloric inducing. Emotionally draining for me because I am so passionate. I experience things deeply, and enjoy art and music immensely. It really feeds my soul.

My friend, Sami Ari of SamiAri.net, invited me to a wonderful performance by Adam Marks. Pictures at an Exhibition was the piano version of Mussorgsky, coupled with art commentary and exhibit suggestion.

It was quirky and enjoyable, and at some points moving. Afterward, Sami and I were famished.

The nearby Qdoba, at 58 East Randolph, Chicago, was an excellent respite to recharge before our exhibit stroll.

Qdoba kindly offered to allow me to sample their NEW "Mango salad" along with a guest. Sami and I were so excited to take a gander and a grub.

Available with or without the "shell", the salad was filling and fresh. Cafeteria-style, the restaurant is clean and inviting. Mango is always delicious. As Sami and I took our first bites we exclaimed simultaneously "REFRESHING"!



A lovely example of tasty goodness! Bravo! We didn't even need dessert. We were happily fulfilled.

Qdoba's salad comes highly recommended.

CLICK HERE to find a location near you.

Jul 27, 2010

"The Perfect Balance of Sweetness & Salt"






If you enjoy the sweet, buttery, salty, crunchiness of popcorn, then you will definitely enjoy Angie's Kettle Corn!

Arriving fresh to Chicago's market this month, Angie's is a delightful, refreshing and natural product that I can whole-heartedly endorse.

I was not paid to provide this assessment. I simply love popcorn and saw that they were giving away samples to interested parties.

I am ALWAYS interested in trying new treats! Being a big, popcorn fan, this was a no-brainer!

Too bad for me, "NO-BRAINERS" entail absolutely NO THINKING and I nearly ate an entire bag myself.

(I do NOT recommend that).

I strongly encourage you to have a supervised visit with Angie's and taste the prize of North Mankato, Minnesota. Made in a facility free of wheat and nuts, Angie's uses no preservatives, no cholesterol, no artificial flavors or trans-fats. The product's ingredients support local farmers and is popped in small batches in REAL kettles!!

It is always fun bringing a great, nutritious tasty bag into the house. The litmus being after a few hours of having the bag simply laying on the counter, if it is not opened and devoured, with a few scuffles and a few slaps and punches, it is not worth purchasing.

In this case, there were several fights, a few tummy aches ( again, do not attempt to eat the entire bag at once ) and lots of moaning amongst the "nom nom nom" munching.

Angie's Kettle Corn has my vote!

Jul 23, 2010

Busy Body Books!


Busy Body Books reach out to the "old school" writer in me.     

Back in the time when folks had note-books, you could really tell the writer from the average student.

"The Writer" had an identifying planner or journal while "the student" ran around with those horrid wire notebooks. In my day, I carried both. As a high school writer, I carried anything that one could write in.

As time progressed and I became extremely attached to the things I penned. Often, I carried leather bound journals, legal pads encased in leather, fancy covered books with unlined paper and drawing books or sketch artist pads to capture my words.

Busy Body has returned me to my comfort zone.

With the tech age, many of these warm writing rituals have escaped me.

At the beginning of my son's school years, I do pass through the now small aisles with journals, but with the demise of "Mom and Pop" book stores, the place where I store my thoughts is often within the hard drive of my laptops!

I most enjoyed the pockets and eye-friendly layouts of the Busy Body Book. It also has sturdy covering for Moms who tend to shove things in accessible places. Having this strength makes the Busy Body Book handy. The paper is thick and the grids assist with categorizing and prioritizing.







The Busy Body Book's weight is impressive. As a mom, we lug so much that it's very helpful when things are lightweight and sturdy.

Recommending this is easy. Sometime you simply need a note pad, a place to jot deep thoughts, a handy note-pad, or organizing your life and that of your family.

Jan Goldner has put thought and care into her product and given us a space to carefully chronicle our brain junk!


That makes me feel awesome.

If you have a Busy Body Book, let me know your thoughts!


Jul 17, 2010

Drove the Chevy to the levee ~



Latosha (@TargetStars) & Melodie (@Wildfirerest) posing for me in front of the WildFire Restaurant Schaumburg at the Summer Seven 1010 Tweetup

I can not believe that I am still excited about my weekend with the 2010 Chevrolet Tahoe Hybrid!


I miss the smooth ride, the comfortable seating, the head-room, the gas mileage, the flexibility in parking, OnStar and XM.


The Hybrid technology fascinated me.


I kept saying to the fleet vehicle deliverer - "Well, how does it charge? Do I need to plug it in?" He chuckled and described the innovative technology.


The battery self charges when you break or are idling at a stop light! It uses regular gas and toted me from Schaumburg and back using very little fuel!

How awesome is that?


The gray coloring also had me smitten.


Chevrolet has really paid great attention to comfort and detail.


Honestly, examining the scope of GM's capabilities has put me further in an enamored state.


Is there anything at all that displeases me about the Chevy vehicles I've tested?


So far, NOPE!




StumbleUpon.com

Jul 14, 2010

An Evening With Rae


Tomorrow night I will be at the Hotel Allegro's Encore "Liquid Lounge"!


My friend and comrade Rae Lewis-Thornton is throwing this bash to promote HIV/AIDS and friendship.


Rae Lewis-Thornton shares with us her daily challenges.  She is always forthright and forthcoming about life's ins and outs living with AIDS. Her honesty and integrity about this disease have altered many untruths over the past 2 decades.


Rae, who has traveled extensively speaking about HIV/AIDS and Safe Sex, has recently begun a blog that is both riveting and informative. You can read all about Rae HERE


Rae is a fascinating speaker and is available to speak across our great land, giving us much needed information about staying safe.


Come join us for an evening of information, friendship and lots of fun and swag ~









StumbleUpon.com

Jul 8, 2010

Celebrating The Things In My Life That Are Better Than Ever ...

At 43, I would have never given myself a glimmer that I would be feeling my best life is happening RIGHT NOW!

I could stand to lose a few pounds (I'm WORKING ON IT) but overall, life is better than ever!

My love pours out with a force that baffles me.

I am confident and totally secure in me.

At 20, my thoughts of being 43, were decrepit and aging thoughts. I never imagined I would have the vigor and stamina I enjoy.

I happily conquer the world every day.

Living your best life may be part psychology and part physiology, but once all the pieces are in place, life simply doesn't get better than this.

The funny thing about the Twitter Moms Discussion is that I use Dove Nutrium Cream Oil bar soap for sensitive skin daily!

Loving ourselves, exactly as we are means we can be BETTER THAN EVER AT ANY AGE!

Improve what you desire to, and what you actually can improve - the rest be happy with!

I applaud Dove's campaign ~ Check it out on FACEBOOK's "Better Than Ever" page.

We, as the makers and shakers of this world, need to feel well, powerful, better and on fire daily.

We need to inspire one another to drink more water, eat purposefully, exercise and use products that keep our skin and organs in optimum shape.

Thanks to powerful and important campaigns, and discussions such as these, we can move into our senior years feeling the fervor of living.

Share your best living tips!



Check out Dove® gofresh™ with NutriumMoisture™Dove® Better Than Ever Facebook Contest



“I wrote this blog post while participating in the TwitterMoms and Dove® gofresh™ blogging program, making me eligible to get a $25 gift card and some product. For more information on how you can participate, click here.”   TWITTERMOMS




StumbleUpon.com

Jun 28, 2010